Let's think of a setup

Hi all, pretty new to Tagtool and animation in general.
I’m an illustrator working mostly for print but heavily interested in the use of projection for storytelling and workshop purposes. I noticed people really love to see how a drawing comes into being.
I’m looking for a portable setup (with or without Tagtool) that allows me to draw and animate from scratch and have it all projected in real-time. Would be great if my drawing tools would feel like “real” pencils.

I’m thinking I could connect a tablet like Wacom to a laptop and project the input via VPT. Still, I need something that let’s me draw AND animate without projecting an UI.
That’s why I’m thinking tagtool.
So question: can I add a tablet, or draw with stylus on an Ipad in tagtool? I’d love to have a style as close to the orginal drawing as possible.

Any other setup you guys are thinking about to: 1. Draw 2. Animate 3. project in real-time without UI? 4. maybe combine it with mapping software?

_

For those interested, my first project into projecting my drawings is this animation (txt in dutch). Everything was drawn by hand but also animated and recorded in advance because I couldn’t find a satisfying setup to create this live. Still, I like the looks of it but missed the drawing in realtime.

2 Likes

Hey there. The Tagtool interface is exactly what you’re looking for. Exact input from your stylus on an ipad, projected in real-time w/o UI and mapping capabilities (when you combine it with other apps). Plus, my favorite thing is that you can stream the artwork wirelessly to a projector, so you’re not wired down! And, in Tagtool, you can share the artboard with others, in fact I’ve made it work where 8 people from 8 different ipads are animating in the same space!

1 Like

Hey @hetgraafschap

Seems like you’re having the same itch that we had when we got started with Tagtool!